Mt Baw Baw Jitters

Things just haven’t gone right this week, and things are looking even worse. There are only two sleeps left before we tackle a climb I’ve been dreading for over twelve months now, Mt Baw Baw, and I’m running out of excuses why I shouldn’t do it. The unseasonally cold weather will be clearing up for what looks like a beautiful day on Sunday. The usual spring rain which has been plentiful this week will dry up leaving the roads safe for cycling, and finally my last best hope, the kindergarten trivia night on Saturday, my excuse for inadvertently being up too late and having perhaps one too many shandies, has been cancelled.

Well, I only have myself to blame. This ride has been planned for well over a month and in a rush of blood and bravado I put my name down to do the ride with all the other crazies in The Greenwood Peleton. The worst part is that the warning signs were there. I struggled up Lake Mountain, and faired only slightly better up Mt Buller. They are relatively tame rides at average gradients of 5-6% compared to Mt Baw Baw which averages over 11% for over six kilometers. Why on Earth did I sign up?

Now the question is, what do I have to do to make it to the top? Reading The Climbing Cyclist’s review of the climb certainly didn’t help. Even worse was watching the flyover. I keep telling myself that it’s only six kilometers of pain. I’ve endured worse haven’t I? Last year I rode 25km’s up Mt Buffalo with constant back spasms in 35 degree heat, 3 times. Surely it can’t be as bad as that? I don’t know, and that’s the problem. I haven’t ridden it before and all the reviews on the planet don’t, correction, can’t give you a true feel for what it’s like until you get there.

I can tell you one thing for certain. The only way I’ll get off my bike is if I fall off, which by the way is an absolute possibility. I’ve heard stories of better cyclists than I having to zigzag their way up the road to try and take the gradient out of it. I hope it doesn’t come to that, but if that’s what it takes then so be it. I WILL NOT GET OFF MY BIKE.

I hope I can keep this resolve going, if not I may very well be looking for that 2 month old bit of ham in the fridge. A good bout of food poisoning should get me off the hook.

One thought on “Mt Baw Baw Jitters

  1. charlie borg

    Hey Kon, Remember catch cry @Donna Buang … Well you know what it is 🙂 …if I am crazy/stupid enough to attempt this climb we will both SUCCEED Together.

    Chugger

    Reply

Leave a Reply

